Skip to content

Clutter

February 28, 2011

I am at that point again where I feel like I am surrounded by clutter. Physical clutter, time clutter, emotional clutter, people clutter. Mark is out of town this week, so it makes for a good opportunity for me to take stock and clean out on all fronts (not that his presence impedes any of that – it’s more that I’m looking for something to do since he’s not around to hang out with). This weekend, amongst all the dyeing and spinning, I started to do some cleaning and organizing. My hope is that this week instead of surfing the internet or just catching up on Law & Order: SVU on Netflix I can actually go though my stuff and give away what I don’t need/use any more and organize what’s left. Let’s see how that works…

Traveling

Earlier this month I went to Stitches West with my good friend Dani to help out in her booth – it was a blast! It was absolutely awesome to meet so many other knitters/spinners and some of the other dyers I’ve admired and to be back in CA for a bit. Nevermind the cold I came home with, I also came home with some awesome fiber and yarn. Yarn diet be damned!

Cooking

Mark and I don’t do gift exchanges on Valentine’s day (though I do request flowers and he obliges), so this year I cooked dinner, complete with a chocolate souffle for dessert! Tasty, but it should have been cooked a teeny bit longer

Spinning

Ever since I bought myself a Lendrum DT for Christmas, my spinning has gotten so much faster and even more consistent. I think I’ve spun up about 16-20 oz this year so far! I’m loving it, but I need to start knitting with it too instead of just hoarding it :)

Dyeing

I spent some time this weekend dyeing too, in preparation for a grayscale self-striping update next month. The poor animals and I are still recovering from the vinegar and wet wool fumes, but at least it’s all dyed up now thanks to a temporary space in the basement! Now just to wash and unwarp it all….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 3:50 am

    wow look at all the pretty yarn!!
    hey it looks like we’ll be going to minis in the mountains again this august!! nat won the logo contest (they just told him sat nite) and he won free lodging in a 2 bdr condo for the whole event at winter park. The kitchen is fully equipped and everything! i am thinking this time we need to have the knitters up to the condo!!! hope you are well!
    xoxox

  2. Monika permalink
    March 1, 2011 11:12 pm

    I need to do spring cleaning myself, we’ll see when do I actually finish with my 2 hyper kids :) thanks again for meeting up with us and the chaos that we brought, I wish it could be longer and less chaotic, next time, I promise!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

