Skip to content

Socktoberfest

November 1, 2005


My one sock – I’m frantically knitting up the cuff of the second and will take another (more creative) picture later. I’ve really enjoyed this – it was my first time making my own pattern (toe up with short-row heel). Though it wasn’t as complicated as I thought it would be, I’m still pretty impressed with myself 🙂

If only research was this simple to enjoy…

Thanks for organizing this Lolly!

Update! I finished them! I’m still getting used to the mismatch of the stripes, but it’s not sock yarn so I didn’t expect them to match. They’re nice and warm for this, um, not so cold October weather? Hmm. Perhaps I should move to a colder climate….

Socks get their own photo shoot.

So far I’ve knit a scarf and the front of a sweater on my machine – I’m not overly thrilled with my machine (it jams and drops stitches and all that when I try to decrease), but it definitely makes knitting stockinette go much faster. Overall, I like it. I’ll include some pictures when I’ve blocked the scarf.

Additionally, I finally gave in and frogged the bind off on my mom’s FBS – I have to block it still, but I think the points will be better this time around. In short, many pictures to come!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    November 1, 2005 12:51 am

    Congrats on the sock! One of my New Year’s Resolutions (for 2005, but it’s getting pushed to 2006) is to do socks & master dpns. Pretty yarn, too.

  2. Lolly permalink
    November 1, 2005 5:45 am

    YEA!! They look great! I like the mismatched stripes! 🙂 Thank YOU for joining Socktoberfest!

  3. jillian permalink
    November 1, 2005 7:21 pm

    Good job on all counts! Those look so warm and comfy. I am still chugging to get on the sock train. It just hasn’t clicked for me. Maybe one of these days 🙂

  4. candsmom permalink
    November 1, 2005 9:02 pm

    Great job on the socks! The mismatched stripes give it such a fun feel (identical’s boring!) and they look so warm and cozy, too. What a fantastic way to end Socktoberfest! 🙂

  5. Miss Twiss permalink
    November 1, 2005 10:40 pm

    WOW! what a great pair of socks. You see, it will begin with envy. Envy will motivate my desire to knit socks.

  6. Aprilynne permalink
    November 2, 2005 3:50 pm

    Looking good so far, and I like the other pair, too! Socktoberfest was just the best idea, wasn’t it?

  7. November 3, 2005 10:48 pm

    Thanks so much for the compliments 🙂 I’m loving socks right now

  8. Aprilynne permalink
    November 13, 2005 6:20 pm

    HEY! I just noticed how you have your list of bloggers arranged, that’s COOL – original. I used to be a type setter, so it ‘popped’ to me =)

  9. November 14, 2005 7:24 pm

    It took forever to do because I did it by hand in the template…never again!

    Thanks though 🙂

  10. jessica~ permalink
    November 17, 2005 11:29 pm

    Oooooooh, the socks look great! Short rows are great, aren’t they?!

Leave a Reply

