Skip to content

Death Valley

April 25, 2008

Campground the first night

The first day’s hike – Mosaic Canyon

Pensive

He was even creepier in person.

It was nice and cool in here!

Here’s an attempted shot of the dust storm that motivated us to leave our campground and see what else we could see. Nothing says desert like having your skin exfoliated by nature!

Welcome to Badwater Basin. Mind the salt.

Follow the salt road!

We moved on to Devil’s Golf Course. I don’t know where the name comes from.

I mean, does that say golf is the devil’s sport?

Or that mini golf is hell? (Disclaimer – I actually like mini golf. When I’m not losing)

Little caves in the wall. Sort of reminded me of the canyons I used to visit with my family in New Mexico/Arizona.

Ghost town on the way home. Needless to say, we got out of the car.

All in all, I really enjoyed it. And that may be because it wasn’t as cold as every other camping trip I’ve been on with M (most of them involved snow). But also because it reminded me of all the family trips we took when I was in school – we made a habit out of going to Chaco Canyon or Canyon de Chelly every year. Unfortunately, I was still in self-imposed knitting time out to let my shoulder chill out, so no knitting was completed on the car ride. Sigh – so much knitting, so little time.

On another note – my etsy shop‘s been updated, so go check it out!

Have a good weekend everyone!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 4:43 pm

    Well I must say this makes me rethink Death Valley. The name itself, plus the temperature, has been enough to keep me away, but it looks like you had a great time! Love that sign, BTW. Tell it like it is, sign!

  2. May 1, 2008 6:24 pm

    I love your stitch marker picture…maybe you should start selling photos of stitch markers on etsy too!

Leave a Reply

