Skip to content

A little bit of everything

May 20, 2008

Lately I’ve been doing a little bit of everything.

Knitting

I managed to finish my mom’s shawl on the flight back from Maryland and get it blocked in time for Mother’s Day.  Overall, I like the Shetland Triangle and the Dream in Color yarn was perfect.  But I think next time I’ll knit on smaller needles (famous last words) – I felt like it was too open to really make sense of the pattern.

I also finished my Clapotis in the nick of time for the wedding – I finished weaving in ends that morning.  Washing it when I got back made it even better!  Knit using 1 and some more Socks That Rock, in the Lucy colorway.

Spinning

This is a little bit of some unknown wool type fiber I had won in a contest.  I had a hard time getting it smooth during the drafting process, so it’s somewhat thick and thin.  But I really love the look of hand dyed roving, and how it varies throughout the yarn.

Sewing

I got motivated to dig up an old quilt top I’d started oh….almost 5 years ago 🙂  Here’s hoping I finish it this year!

But even more noteworthy, I learned how to make box bags.  I love Heather Ross prints, so when I saw the Piddleloop team making bags with her fabric (and of course how quickly they were selling out), I bought some myself and used a tutorial I found online to make my own.  And a few more.  I have a whole new even greater respect for people who sew to sell.  Alot of this are a little wonky from not measuring carefully enough or pinning things tightly enough.  I’m still really pleased with myself, though I have no idea what I’ll do with all these bags 🙂

Shopping

Now that I’m not really buying yarn anymore, I feel ok adding to my fiber stash….Two new rovings from Hello Yarn’s update last Friday (seriously, world’s fastest shipping)

A bag I couldn’t resist in the latest Piddleloop feeding frenzy update (also world’s fastest shipping and the cutest surprises)

And finally, a set of speakers.  I’ve used my old PC computers for years for my iPod, but when Teresa sent me the link to these I couldn’t resist.  I have a fondness for ladybugs (starting from when I was a kid visiting relatives in Germany), so this docking station had to come live with me.  I’m really very pleased with it – it comes with a remote, can work on batteries or plugged in, and has really great sound (to my untrained ear).  And the huge discount was awesome too.

Besides all that….thank you all for your kind words on my last post.  I still can’t get over the fact it’s been a little over a year.  In some ways I feel completely normal, in others I feel like my whole world is still turned upside down.  But all in all life is pretty good.  I’m absolutely looking forward to the long weekend and a couple of trips this summer.  In spite of the diagnosis of arthritis in my knee (I just stared at the doctor when he told me I should slow down some), I’m still planning on going to Mt. Whitney in August (which means I need to do some serious cardio training!).  I’ve been to the lowest point in California this year, I might as well round it out 🙂

Hope everyone’s having a good Monday!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 2:07 pm

    Wow you’ve been busy! Your shawl and Clapotis are both so, so pretty! I bet your mom was stunned 🙂

    As to those bags – put a little project in each one!

  2. May 20, 2008 2:19 pm

    oooh your mom’s shawl turned out quite pretty! your clapotis looks mighty pretty too…and i don’t think those bags you made were so bad at all. They look pretty good to me!!!

  3. May 21, 2008 1:21 am

    It’s funny… I wished I had used bigger needles for my Smooshy Shetland Triangle! Maybe there’s a perfect middle gauge that we both missed.

  4. May 22, 2008 3:00 am

    A little bit of everything, indeed! Those bags are adorable and the shawls…beautiful!

  5. May 23, 2008 4:55 pm

    I absolutely love your knitting! Your spinning is so wonderful — can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  6. May 25, 2008 6:16 am

    Holy carp you’re productive! Everything is gorgeous!

  7. July 4, 2008 8:51 am

    Very cute bags! I have a clutch type thing w/ the robots I got from an Etsy seller here in the UK – seabreezestudio. She has a lot of cute fabrics.

Leave a Reply

