Skip to content

Bafflement

June 13, 2008

I’ve blooged before about my frustrations with UPS and ignoring requests to not leave packages on my balconoy for all the world to inherit (along with my potting soil), but it’s time to add FedEx to the list.

Due to the citizenships of my parents, I’m eligible for dual citizenship between the US and the EU.  After years of trying to get all the right documents together, I went to the consulate in LA last month to officially apply.  My application was in order, and I was told my passport would arrive within 4-6 weeks.

5 weeks go by and I decide to email to consulate and ask if my passport has been shipped and if so, what the tracking number is so I can locate it.  Armed with this number, I find out that not only has my passport been shipped, but FedEx tried to deliver three times without leaving any notice.  A call to customer service revealed they were holding my passport for me in Oxnard and by the end of the week, if I didn’t pick it up, they would send it back to LA.

I fight the northbound traffic to Oxnard, pick up my shiny new passport, and drive home.

To find a door tag from FedEx announcing they’d tried to deliver a 4th time.

Mumblemumble.

The other lesson learned from this, besided FedEx is just as unreliable as UPS, is that my passport had already made quite a journey to arrive to me.  It was shipped from LA to Oxnard, via Memphis TN!  Having just finished Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (an excellent book if you’re looking for a new read), and thinking more about the transportation costs that go along with food, this just blows my mind.  Give me one good reason why my package had to be dispatched via the East Coast.

Right.

This weekend is one full of celebration – success in qual exams, M’s birthday, and various graduations.  Have a great weekend all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yao permalink
    June 16, 2008 9:12 am

    so the reason why it passed through memphis is that it is likely that all packages shipped via fedex air pass through memphis. they use it as a hub and sort/reroute packages there. i believe UPS uses some place in kentucky as their main hub. the hub and spoke model is what allows them to give such a high level of service (short delivery times) at affordable prices.

  2. Krista M permalink
    June 19, 2008 12:56 am

    Hello! I am writing to see
    if you wanted to contribute to
    an afghan for Rachael at yarn-a-gogo
    in sympathy for losing her mom. I
    am trying to collect 8 inch knit
    squares.
    Please contact me at knitdelaware
    ATyahooDOTcom and let me know.
    Thanks! Krista M

Leave a Reply

