Skip to content

4 years in the making

July 8, 2008

As I watched other blogs reach their anniversaries, it dawned on me mine must be coming up. Sure enough – July 27th will mark 4 years of mostly knit blogging at Kniterations. This blog has been through grad school, a new job, loss, and a hosting change. But through it all there’s been knitting.

As my life has changed, I go through periods when blogging seems like a strain. Like I have too much to say but can’t put it on paper. Or like what I have to say doesn’t stand up to the fine bloggers out there that I read daily (my subscriber feed runneth over). But throughout it all, blogging has been a way to look back at where I came from and where I am now. And a chance to be part of a community that is just as crazy (if not crazier) about knitting as I am. As I work on squares for a memory blanket, with the one my friends made for me when my brother died, it really hits home.

So. That means it’s time for free yarn. You have until midnight, PST, on July 27th to leave a comment on this post. About anything. Why you blog. A funny video. A good book recommendation (seriously on this last one – I’m going through audiobooks like it’s my job). What knitting is for you. To offer up I have these:

2 skeins Gypsy Girl, in Solstice, enough for a pair of socks

1 skein All Things Heather

Crystal Palace Musique in Dune (I forget if it’s 2 or 3 skeins)

1 skein Koigu KPPM, great for pairing into a Chevron Scarf (trust me, I already have 🙂 )

This list will be updated once I have to chance to make sure I’ve got the amounts right, and if I find anything else to add. As usual, anyone who mentions you referred them earns you an extra entry. Posting on your blog earns you an extra entry too. So go crazy 🙂

ETA: After the entries are in, I’ll use a random number generator to pick the winners and let them pick their prizes.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. sknitty permalink
    July 8, 2008 7:18 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!

    Hmmmm. Blogging. I suppose I blog to be part of this community too. An active part, adding something to it (hopefully), to all the information, inspiration, humor, compassion, and lifestuff I get from the many blogs, mostly knitting but others too, that I read.

  2. July 8, 2008 7:26 pm

    happy blog blog bloggidty blogaversary!

    i started mine to learn raw HTML and to learn to place pictures using raw html but i think mine is going on 5 or 6 years now.
    Now i’m just a visual person and it’s like a sketchbook for me, cause i don’t draw.

  3. July 8, 2008 10:43 pm

    Wow! Happy Blogiversary! I always enjoy reading what you have to say. 🙂

  4. July 8, 2008 11:01 pm

    I’ve been on a reading tear, so I actually have a few book recs:
    Apartment Therapy — actually makes redoing your apartment sound doable
    Brainiac, by Ken Jennings — from the winningest Jeopardy champion ever, about his Jeopardy games and why trivia isn’t trvial
    The World Without Us, by Alan Weisman — I just started listening to this audiobook, but so far, it’s really good. Basically, what happens to the world if humanity just picked up and left?

  5. yao permalink
    July 8, 2008 11:39 pm

    i liked “Biology and Human Behavior: The Neurological Origins of Individuality” by sapolsky.

    it’s basically a semester’s worth of lectures. very interesting. i have the audio book if you want a copy.

    i’ll pass on the knitting paraphernalia as i already have enough.

  6. orata permalink
    July 9, 2008 3:38 am

    Happy blogiversary! I highly recommend the book The Fruit Hunters, if you can find it as an audiobook.

  7. July 9, 2008 3:52 pm

    If you’re into some light summer reading (or listening, as the case may be) I highly recommend “Sunshine” by Robin McKinley. It’s a vampire tale, but told from an oddly and refreshingly cheerful perspective. Fun, and hard to put down.

    And knitting for me is a sanctioned form of fidgeting, with beautiful end products. I’ve always been a nail picker/biter and the knitting gives me something much more productive to do when I’m nervous!

  8. Martha permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:24 pm

    Happy Blog-o-versary! That happens to be my birthday….

    Anyway, knitting for me is being part of a giant community that likes to share. Also, it helps to feel good about something that you’ve completed, or not….

  9. July 11, 2008 2:47 pm

    i’m on a yarn diet so i don’t need to be in the running for yarn, but happy early blogiversary! why do i blog? it’s a bit of a release for me. it allows me to share my life and projects with other people, it lets me be involved in an amazing community. i can’t tell you how many people i’ve met since i started blogging and since ravelry was thrown into the mix. i haven’t been doing much reading recently, so i’m sorry i don’t have any good recommendations for you.

  10. July 14, 2008 5:50 pm

    Happy Early Blogiversary! being a part of the knitblog community has enriched my life in so many ways. It’s kind of crazy to think about, since I had no idea wehat would become of the blog when we first stared. I’ve made some really good friends, some who have become “real life” friends. And the inspiration and encouragement I get from other bloggers really is the greatest.

  11. August 24, 2008 2:07 am

    Happy Blogversary! I’m a relatively new blogger, and I’m frequently convinced that no one is actually reading what I write, but then someone will leave a comment that’s just what I needed at a particular time, and it’s all worth it! Who knows, maybe one of these days I’ll be celebrating a 4th blogversary!

Trackbacks

  1. I’m here! « Kniterations

Leave a Reply

