Skip to content

Debate in SF

July 10, 2008

It’s sad to follow up the exciting contest post with this, but something has to be said.

The Bridge Rail Foundation announced the proposed suicide barriers had been announced and that public review had started. There are hearings going on, and the public can call or email to vote and express their opinions. My mom forwarded me the newsletter, and I can’t find a way to link it on here so email me if you’re interested in seeing it.

The San Francisco Chronicle has also posted a poll on their site, and a place to comment. I didn’t read all the comments because honestly I just don’t have it in me. I cannot read any more comments along the lines of “It’s a waste of money, it won’t do anything, people are going to kill themselves anyways, it will unprettify the bridge.” My brother is dead and you’re too cheap or vain to chip in to save others? Seriously?

Sorry, off my soapbox now. But I post this here if any one feels compelled to say something and make their voice heard. In my mind the fact the Golden Gate Bridge is a suicide magnet detracts from its beauty in a more sinister way than any barrier ever would. But that’s just me.

PS: The New York Times has a piece about the nature of suicide, esp. jumping, and how barriers and similar actions have really helped. Take a look, it’s very informative.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2008 3:06 pm

    Thankfully it seems like despite public ignorance, the City is moving forward.

  2. July 12, 2008 7:19 pm

    I so agree with you that the bridge as it is is sinister. I hope that there can be some sort of barrier put up. Just those few precious seconds that help to prevent someone from jumping can go a long way toward saving so many lives.

  3. July 12, 2008 11:48 pm

    Thanks for that link to the New York Times. That article is incredibly informative.

Leave a Reply

