Skip to content

FO-o-rama

August 8, 2008

I swear this is the last time this will ever happen – 2 FOs in 2 days. After leaving you in suspense with my last post, I broke down and bought another skein of Malabrigo lace in Damask Rose to finish my Swallowtail shawl. Though I had arranged a swap with a fellow Raveler, she didn’t mail off my yarn until yesterday so it’s a good thing I bought another!

Specs – Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl, by Evelyn Clark. Needles: US 4. Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Damask Rose, 1.000001 skeins (ok, that may be an exaggeration). Mods: I’d heard this was small, so as others I did 19 repeats of the Budding Lace pattern and then did the 3 (I know, 3!) borders as written. I also, not having a good pair of lace needles, opted to use beads instead of doing the nupps and added beads as I pleased on the Peaked Edging as well. I’m probably going to make another, but this time I’ll weigh my yarn before I start and keep track of it when I get to the borders. I figured out I could skip one of the Lily of the Valley Borders (I think) and it would still work…..

Also finished, and currently soaking in the sink, my Lady Eleanor Stole. This one is sort of poignant, as I started it as something to keep me busy right after my brother died. It’s been sort of therapeutic to work on, but in a way I’m glad to get it done. It’s a sort of release….Specs – Pattern: Lady Eleanor Stole, from Scarf Style. Needles: US 7. Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, color 203, 10 skeins.

And now it’s time to dry it out! Have a good night all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2008 3:21 pm

    they are both so beautiful. i can’t wait to see lady eleanor all blocked. how did you like the malabrigo lace? i am not too keen on one-ply yarns, but it’s so soft!

  2. August 8, 2008 3:33 pm

    they are indeed GORGEOUS

  3. August 9, 2008 2:31 pm

    Oh my goodness! All the beauty. The Swallowtail is stunning with those beads, they are a perfect match. And I’m betting the Lady E will be even more gorgeous after blocking. I am glad to hear that project was a cathartic one for you!

  4. August 9, 2008 6:32 pm

    OMG, look at you! Both are gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

