Skip to content

Joining the fray

September 6, 2008

And no, I don’t mean the band.  I mean I too am finally giving in to all the posts flying around the internet about *gasp* politics.

I’m going to be honest with you – I’m fairly apathetic about politics, so long as it doesn’t interfere with my knitting I’m content to watch, make my choice, and vote.  Not to say I close my eyes, circle a name on the ballot, and turn it in.  But I watched about as much of the Olympics as I did either convention.  Because there is no Hugh Laurie at either convention.

But I’m tired of it.  I was tired of it with the campaigns for the primaries – for once, just one time, I want to see an election where the candidates don’t go straight for the mud and start sligning.  Will I ever see that day?  I don’t know.  But it’s a nice thought.  Anyways, I’m getting ahead of myself.  So.  Sarah Palin.  Who?  I don’t know much about her, but I know 3 things.  1 – I’ve never heard of her.  2 – she has a pregnant daughter, who’s only 17.  And 3 – she has a child with special needs.  And I can’t help but wonder – if she’s the Republican Party’s VP candidate, if I’m to know anything about her, shouldn’t I know something more relevant?

Shouldn’t the news coming out about her be what she stands for?  What her politics are?  Why is the biggest story her 17 year old daughter?  And why, why is that in any way relevant to her qualification to be second in command?  People are attacking her, saying not even her family can follow her family values.  I’m sorry, but no parent knows everything their child does – no parent has 100% control over the kids.  Are my parents somehow deficient and unable to hold responsibility because of a choice my brother made?  Is Sarah Palin’s daughter’s decision to have sex a reflection on Sarah Palin’s qualifications?

She’s also being criticized for running for VP while she has a child with special needs.  I know this is a valid point, but I can’t help but feel it’s sexist.  I just don’t believe these would have been the top stories if she were a man.  The focus would have been more on the candidate’s lack of experience.  Not that the other stories wouldn’t have surfaced, because we all love a good drama.

But in the end it’s up to me to decide what facts are important.  I’m disappointed that the media isn’t giving us all the info we need to make educated decisions, but that’s not all that new.  Anyways.  That’s my political rant.  Everyone go find some pretty yarn (or a good bottle of wine).  Have a good weekend, and try not to do anything that’ll haunt you if you ever run for political office….

Easier said than done…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 8:19 pm

    the media are lambasting her about her so called family values, mostly cause she’s a HUGE religious zealot. When you tout god around and go on and on about christian values, people are going to get rather cut throat.

    I on the other hand think she’s just a religious zealot much like Mitt. And is pretty good at alinating any smart, free-thinking republicans within the party.

  2. September 8, 2008 5:19 pm

    I think the media is talking about her personal life because she doesn’t have a whole lot of political experience to speak of (just because Alaska is next to Russia, that doesn’t mean you have international experience). And the campaign has placed her “family values” up on a platter to be admired, so when her real life doesn’t measure up to what the campaign is saying, I think it’s somewhat natural to look into it.

    She’s the one who decided to drag the the 17-year-old boy who got her daughter pregnant up on stage at the convention. She’s putting it out there. And maybe, just maybe, if Sarah Palin supported real sex education – instead of abstinence-only crap – her daughter would have known how to get the Pill or how to use a condom.

    No, no parent has absolute control over what their children do, and the decisions that they make. But when the entire gist of your campaign is “I’m just a wholesome hockey mom,” you have to accept that your parenting choices are going to come under scrutiny.

    Now, that being said, I’m disgusted by the people who say that because she has small children, that she shouldn’t be running for office. I don’t agree with any of her politics, but no one should say that just because she’s a mom, she shouldn’t also be VP.

  3. September 11, 2008 12:50 am

    Like Sara said, Palin doesn’t have much experience and so has voluntarily put her personal life out there to help support her views.

    It doesn’t matter to me if it’s the case with a candidate is male or female, but I think having children who are so young would make it difficult to lead. Schoolage kids are another matter, but an infant is so much work, it just seems like a lot to have going on if someone were to have so much responsibility. I’d feel the same way if it were the case with any other candidate.

    To me it’s sad that she uses her family for her own gain. It would be nice if the media would really focus on the issues– then we’d see how little substance there is to her rhetoric. Right now it seems like she’s hiding behind her family…

Leave a Reply

