Skip to content

I’m back!

September 27, 2008

The trip home was relatively uneventful, aside from the traffic between LAX and home.  When I was in college, the rule of thumb to tell who was from Northern vs. Southern California was how they identified freeways – if there was a “the” in front of the freeway, odds were good they were from Southern CA.  And yesterday I realized why – 405 isn’t so much a freeway as it is a destination.  When you’re going to be on the 405, you’re going to be there for awhile….

So – item 96.  US Bills in context.  I love when people do things like this 🙂

95.  The Great Dog Escape.  This reminds me alot of both Waldi (my parents’ first dog) and Maggie (one of their current dogs.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sknitty permalink
    September 28, 2008 2:57 pm

    Welcome back! Sounds like a near trip – if not what you were expecting. I just had a conversation with someone else about the “the” before a freeway name in LA thing. I didn’t even realize I did it. But I think you’re right – that’s what N and I thought. That when you live here these places become such of part of your regular existence they become proper nouns 🙂

  2. eightfoldrabbit permalink
    September 28, 2008 5:40 pm

    I am originally from N Cal, but have lived in So Cal for about 13 years now. I always refer to No Cal freeways without a “the” and So Cal freeways *with* a “the” – so if I’m talking about 101 which goes from South to North, I’ll refer to it as “the 101” until I get up to about the Monterey Bay area, at which point it is just “101” or “Highway 101.”

    Some of us just adapt our early conditioning. 😉

Leave a Reply

