Skip to content

Jerkins

October 3, 2008

89. One disappointing thing about my trip to Puerto Rico was that someone stole my GPS out of my checked suitcase. Why did I bring my own, when I could have rented one from Hertz? Because I’m used to my GPS and can work it with minimal distraction. And why did I put it in my checked luggage? Because I was already carrying enough onto the plane, and didn’t think the pilot would need it. However it turns out Continental doesn’t cover the theft of anything, as evidenced by their extensive list. The fun begins with the line “liquids, perfumes, liquor, jerkins, zamzam water“.  Methinks that list doth present a typo (given the only result Google could find for Jerkins)

To continue my quest of learning more during Socktoberfest, not only do I want to learn more about the basics of socks, but of sock yarns. Those of you on Ravelry can see I have an extensive sock yarn stash, some of them on the ‘higher end’ of sock yarns. Reading a comparison of Sundara and Wollmeise on one of the boards a few weeks ago, I’ve decided to knit a pair out of each this month (or this year, I’m sure I won’t finish them this month).

From left to right: Wollmeise in Rharbarber for Nutkin socks and Sundara in both Charcoal over Cobalt and Pale Sky over Sugared Violet for Garden Gate socks

I also picked up a few other yarns, based on recommendations of Sundara knitters, that I’ll be trying out as well.

From left to right: Sunshine Yarns Soft Sock, The Sanguine Gryphon Eidos Sock, and The Sanguine Gryphon Little Traveler Sock. Both dyers have wonderful color sensibilities, and the yarns are beautiful

Shibui Sock Yarn. Mmm….squooshy sock yarn!

Good thing I have so many sock needles…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 4:30 pm

    That’s awful!! Holy crap. I can’t say I’m surprised that the airlines don’t have to be held accountable for the theft of something left in there possession. It seems like they really have to do very little these days except get you bodily from one place to another in one piece and not one thing more.

  2. October 3, 2008 8:23 pm

    ooh, i’ve always wanted to try sundara sock yarn! lucky you! sorry to hear about your GPS 😦 what a bummer 😦

Leave a Reply

