Skip to content

Birth control six pack and questionable practices

October 5, 2008

88.  The next time you’re at the grocery store, pick up a six-pack of coke.  Once you’re done getting buzzed on rum and cokes, you can use the coke as a contraceptive!  Say it with me: Whaaaaa?

I’ve been on a destashing and restashing binge since I got back from Puerto Rico, and even a bit before.  Early in September I sent a fellow Raveler $31 for a skein of Sundara, usually priced at $25 plus $4 something for shipping.  I thought the price seemed a little high, but assumed it was because she was sending it Priority Mail as she originally received it.  I returned from Puerto Rico to find the yarn hadn’t arrived, so I emailed her and messaged her on Ravelry to ask if it had been shipped and when.  And got no response, even though she’d posted on her blog over the weekend.  So I contacted some of the mods on Ravelry, one of whom regularly sorts out these disputes, to ask for advice.  The Sundara mods suggested giving it another day before contacting her again and letting her know they knew, while the other mod said it had been over two weeks and I was well within my rights to requet a refund through PayPal.  When I contacted the seller again, she responded to say my yarn had been shipped first class (??) and to give it a few more days.  If it didn’t come, she’d give me a refund.  Well, a few more days passed and the yarn never came.  And then the kicker – I found out on Ravelry I’m not the only person she did this to.  The other person is out $174!!

What gets me about this, is that she’s a blogger I’ve been reading for a couple of years.  When you read about someone’s day to day life over the years, it makes it feel a little more personal when something like this happens.  It’s totally artificial, but it’s there.  So after reading about the other complaint, I immediately went to PayPal to file a dispute, which I’ll have to escalate in order to have PayPal decide.  Wish me luck….She may come through and it won’t get to that point.  But since it took me 3 emails, 2 PMs on Ravelry, contacting 3 mods, and threatening to go through PayPal to get a single response, I’m not holding my breath.

ETA: I haven’t posted her name or blog here, but she’s been added to the naughty swapper list on Ravelry for those of you who’ve asked who it is.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sknitty permalink
    October 5, 2008 2:39 pm

    Oh man – that sux! I can imagine how it feels more personal. And I almost have a hard time imagining an “active” member of the blogging/Rav community having the balls to grift other members. And how stupido is someone to think it won’t get figured out and passed along to others?

  2. October 5, 2008 5:24 pm

    I hate when that happens… I always try to search the username through ravelry, but really…I think sometimes that while we generally are very trustworthy on that site, but maybe we shouldn’t sometimes. I’m so sorry, and I hope it works out.

  3. October 5, 2008 7:36 pm

    Man, that burns. I hope it gets worked out in your favor. I don’t understand how people have the balls to do that. 😦

  4. October 6, 2008 12:17 am

    I am sorry that happened to you. It is hard to imagine another fiber enthusiast ripping off someone in the love of wool. Will you share this person’s info so the rest of us can protect ourselves or does Ravelry give us that info?

  5. October 6, 2008 1:14 pm

    ugh, why do people think they can get away with that kind of stuff? terrible.

Leave a Reply

