Skip to content

Hi, I’m not able to come to the blog right now, but if you leave your name…

November 1, 2008

…..I may or may not get back to you.  I won’t lie, it’s been insanely stressful lately at work and adding on another job to it while still trying to have a social life hasn’t made life any easier.  But, in lieu of complaining I bring you pictures!  What I’ve been up to….

Decorating

I went a little crazy in my quest to gussy up my apartment, but these prints from the yumi yumi store were well worth it.

See!  Pictures with frames!  On the wall!  And sort of straight!

Shopping

I’m a girl who loves shoes, and so when I saw the discussion on Ravelry about the best shoes to showcase handknit socks I knew I was in trouble (not only because I love shoes but because I have a lot of socks to knit, given all the sock yarn I have).  And so of course to combat any bad week, buying a pair of shoes at REI was in order.  Don’t worry though, they’re really comfortable and already getting a lot of love (even from Marie in the background)

Sewing

It took awhile, but I finally got around to sewing up all those bags I’d cut fabric for and pinned and neglected on my dining room sewing table.  The bad news?  I still have a ton of fabric cut up, and even more to salvage into quilt squares…

Knitting

Another cute pair of roll top bootee (pattern in 50 Baby Bootees to Knit), made last minute for a woman I work with who’s due in a few months.  I didn’t know the sex of the baby, but luckily she loves blue and blue (at least to me) is pretty neutral for booties!

Also freshly off the needles, my first Clapotis made by weighing out the skein at critical points to maximize yarn usage.  Made from Regia Canadian Color, I’m in love with the bright colors and the juxtaposition of horizontal stripes and vertical dropped stitches.  Now it just needs a date with my dining room blocking table.

Remembering

My mom has been heavily involved lately with Golden Gate Bridge barrier efforts, so my brother has been on my mind alot lately.  While browsing etsy (no wonder work has been so stressful) (kidding!) I found Kathryn Riechert’s shop and loved the idea of a posey ring with peace on the outside and my brother’s name on the inside.  Because everyone could use a little peace right now.  So, I ordered two.  One for me, and one for my mom.

Well, at the pace I’ve been going I’ll be back in a couple of weeks….kidding again!  M and I are flying out to Maryland next week for his friend’s wedding, and assuming the 3 days of work next week don’t cause me to explode from stress it should be a good break.  And maybe a good chance to test out my new lenses…

Happy halloween all!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2008 5:26 am

    Lenses? Did you get new camera toys??? Fun! PS I love those shoes… must resist… Merrills so… comfy…

  2. Jasmine permalink
    November 1, 2008 2:27 pm

    Oooh, I like what you have done with your apartment. 🙂

  3. November 1, 2008 3:09 pm

    I bought those SAME shoes in black/charcoal in NY! They were great for long-distance walking.

    The rings are beautiful – your mom will love it.

  4. November 1, 2008 6:42 pm

    The rings are a really lovely idea.

    Your clapotis turned out great!!!!!!!!

  5. yao permalink
    November 3, 2008 8:32 am

    new lenses??? tell me more!!

  6. November 3, 2008 11:56 pm

    You have been busy! Super cute shoes! And the booties are adorable! Baby booties are such a great (and quick!) gift! And, I love the rings you bought for you and your mom. What a beautiful remembrance.

  7. Pip permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:18 am

    I love my bags too 😀 so very useful… though they do look good hanging in a row like that!

Leave a Reply

