Skip to content

Times, they are a-changin’

November 5, 2008

On the one hand, I am beyond relieved that the change so many wanted has come – that Barack Obama won the race.

But here in California, I’m disappointed.  How could a state, seemingly so open-minded and free-spirited, vote for discrimination?  For the last 2 weeks I’ve seen people standing on street corners (hehe) with their “YES on PROP 8!” signs, declaring it’s “Freedom of Religion,” “Less Government,” “Free Speech,” or some other, well, crap.

Voting to ban gay marriage is not “freedom of religion” by any stretch of the definition.  Religious freedom is the freedom to practice the religion of your choice, without persecution (key phrase being without persecution – persecution for your beliefs).  Seriously, that’s what Wikipedia says and Wikipedia knows all.

Less government is…I have no idea how they came up with the idea that voting for something reduces the involvement of government.  If you’re voting for it, well, the government’s already involved.

Free speech….I’ll agree that you’re free to voice your opinions about gay marriage, just like I am.  But voting to ban same sex marriage is not free speech.  It’s a state law.  And aren’t you, by this stretch of logic, restricting the free speech of others?

There have also been a plethora of TV ads about how allowing same sex marriage will force schools to teach children about gay marriage and OMG THE CHILDREN!  I don’t remember learning anything about marriage back in my school years (yes, we had schools in Oklahoma.  It was great), and I’ve heard there isn’t anything now.  I hate to break it to the people who believe this, but your children will learn outside of school.  And about things you don’t want them to.  They’ll learn about sex and drugs and rock and roll (oh wait, rock’s pretty tame now).  They’ll learn about terrorism and gangs and Cuban cigars.  And if you’re not equipped to answer what you consider awkward questions, well, maybe parenting isn’t for you.  Kids are going to ask questions about EVERYTHING, because that’s part of the job description.  It will be at the worst times, in front of other people, and very loudly.  Just ask my mom (Hi Mom!  Sorry about that!).

So if you’re against same sex marriage, that’s your opinion and your right to voice it and I’m fine with that.  But don’t sell me a law to discriminate against same sex couples as anything else.  I’m a fairly educated person, and I don’t appreciate being treated as anything less.

As my parents would say, “California, go back to your room and don’t come back out until you’ve thought about what you’ve done.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 11:57 pm

    Well said. I am saddened by this development.

  2. November 5, 2008 11:59 pm

    Oh man, I agree wholeheartedly. The religion argument is the one that gets me the most. No one is forcing your church (or temple or synagogue) to perform the ceremony! I like to say: If you’re against gay marriage, DON’T HAVE ONE.

  3. November 6, 2008 12:03 am

    I’m with you on this, and I’m still stunned that it passed. I know So Many People who feel this way, and so few who are in favor of 8. I guess I should be glad that I know so few people who are in favor of 8. You’re right about kids asking questions, and as a parent, I’m glad my kids do. Last night, as we were listening on the radio to the election coverage, the reporter talked about San Francisco’s measure to legalize prostitution. My daughter didn’t miss a beat. Immediately, she asked, “What’s prostitution?” Um, okay. Deep breath!

  4. November 6, 2008 12:04 am

    OMG, I totally agree with you! On one hand I’m so excited and happy and proud about Obama, but on the other hand I’m so disappointed and sick over Prop 8. (And yeah- those “Yes on 8” commercials were an abomination.)

  5. Jasmine permalink
    November 6, 2008 2:01 am

    OMG. On the news this morning, I heard a Prop 8 supporter say that this is NOT discrimination. What are they smoking?

  6. November 6, 2008 4:55 am

    so basically in a nut shell isn’t the whole thing just discriminating against “religious people’s right to discriminate? seems like a waste of time and money to me. This is very sad (and pathetic)

  7. November 13, 2008 3:32 am

    ugh i am also disgusted by this. don’t even know what to say about it – i think you said it perfectly.

Leave a Reply

