Skip to content

So, about New Years….

January 8, 2009

I am most definitely not one for making resolutions, because they rarely stick. But as this year starts, a few things come to mind that I’d like to change and are in my power to do so.

  1. Stop worrying about things I have no control over. Seriously, I worry like it’s my job. And while some days my job does involve worrying, I’m hourly and have been putting in alot of worry overtime. I tell people to stop worrying so much, I should take some of that free advice myself.
  2. Get in shape. I had grand schemes to get in shape to hike Mt. Whitney last year and wasn’t able to pull it off. Part of that is due to arthritis and other knee problems, but in all honestly I could be in better shape.
  3. Spend more time on me. I split my days between a full time job, a part time job, allergist/chiropractor appointments, and whatever social commitments I’ve made. Mostly this results in me doing a ton of driving and wanting to just veg out and watch TV when I do finally get home.
  4. Invest in myself. I’ve been lazy about my career, probably time to start thinking harder about that….
  5. Knock it off with the retail therapy. I have more sock yarn than I have pairs of socks. I also have more shoes than I have feet.
  6. Be inspired. Cook more, bake more, write more. And do the crossword to sharpen the mind.

So, as I stalk the internet and TV less and start to be a little more selfish, I wish you all a happy 2009!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 10:03 pm

    Just had to say that these are great resolutions but it is never, ever a problem to have more shoes than feet, in my books!

  2. January 8, 2009 10:33 pm

    Though not usually at New Year’s, I often find myself trying to be more selfish too. Good luck with all of them!

  3. January 9, 2009 1:37 am

    Happy New Year! And, great list! Good luck with the whole lot!

  4. January 9, 2009 2:45 pm

    this is a great list. you really do need to take time out for yourself every now and then. gotta worry about you! not the other stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

