Skip to content

Happy birthday….

January 17, 2009

Today would have been my brother’s 20th birthday, had he not died a year and a half ago. His second year of college, the end of his teens…I still think about him most days when something reminds me of him, though I don’t talk about him any more. Most of the time it still feels surreal, like this couldn’t have possibly happened. But it has, and so we try to cope.

Today I will be going up to Hearst Castle, something I’ve wanted to do for year, in an effort to do something. Though I know he and my parents will still be on my mind.

Happy birthday, I wish you were here for it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 6:57 pm

    thinking of you today, kate. i often find that birthdays are the hardest…

    have fun at the hearst castle. that place is amazing.

  2. January 18, 2009 1:08 am

    I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts today.

    Love,

    Katie

  3. January 19, 2009 2:24 am

    i think it’s good to think of him often and to celebrate his memory, because that is important. I hope you had a good day despite the marking of his passing.

  4. January 19, 2009 5:28 pm

    šŸ˜¦ I hope you had a good day at Hearst Castle. I’ve never been, but I heard it’s really cool. Thinking of you. I know this is tough.

  5. Monika permalink
    January 20, 2009 5:50 am

    hugs from Monika and Audrey

  6. sknitty permalink
    January 21, 2009 12:41 am

    Hope your trip to Hearst was nice. Good to keep busy. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

