Skip to content

Marie

February 10, 2009

I haven’t been blogging much lately, mostly because I’d sort of lost the blogging mojo. Work is really busy right now, and M and I are in the midst of making some big decisions (no, not that), and there’s just something about working 2 jobs that sort of zaps the writing right out of you.

Last week was a little worrisome when Marie seemed to be getting sick. I let her go outdoors some to burn off some energy, and last Sunday she came back in and proceeded to throw up not once, but twice. Since it looked like grass (according to M – I still hadn’t made it back home from the store yet) I didn’t worry too much about it. But when she threw up her food for the next two days it became apparent it was time for a visit to the vet. A few hundred dollars later and she got a clean bill of health – no obstruction, no parasites, no abnormal blood levels. Just a slightly lethargic cat and a bottle of anti-nausea meds. (According to my friend who’s a vet tech I got overcharged) She has thankfully returned to her normal energetic and chatty self, which is sweet. But looking at that vet bill, and all the yarn I’d purchased lately (and how little I’ve been able to knit with my shoulder), I decided some of it had to go. And so, in the space of two days, I was able to resell enough of my stash and make up the vet bill.

Which sort of freaks me out. What am I doing with a vet bill’s worth of yarn in my apartment? If there’s ever a fire, how am I going to convince my insurance company that I have hundreds of dollars worth of yarn that I need them to reimburse me for? Should I maybe invest in a large, fireproof safe?

I certainly don’t regret shipping out all that yarn to other people to cover the vet bill – Marie’s been with me for almost 6 years now and I hope she will for alot longer. She’s not just a cat, but a furry little person with her own distinct personality. A little spastic at times, but that’s Marie.

All this destashing made me rethink my habit of retail therapy (and also my career choice – I think I could be much happier owning my own yarn store) and the concept of slow stashing. I was pretty successful with my yarn diet until I got stuck in Puerto Rico last year for 2 weeks. Then it became, “Oh, well I deserve something nice for having been alone out here working long days for so long.” Then it was my birthday, and the holidays, and then I just forgot about the yarn diet.

So back on the wagon I go. And back to working on my quilt – I finally finished my first full size quilt top, and I’m in the midst of tying all the layers together before I tackle the binding (I’m a little worried about this)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 5:41 am

    i’m happy to hear she’s doing better. it’s scary when your pet gets sick! i spent $780 for billie to have surgery at the end of last year.

  2. February 10, 2009 1:43 pm

    i’m so glad Mrie is all ok.
    and as far as the binding goes YOU CAN DO EEEEEET.

  3. sknitty permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:05 pm

    I’m happy to hear Miss M is doing fine now!

  4. February 17, 2009 4:06 pm

    So glad your cat is okay! She’s so cute! Pet bills are outrageous. I didn’t go to the vet for the longest time because my cat was an indoor cat. Ralphs sells pet insurance, though, which may be something to look into…

  5. February 18, 2009 7:03 pm

    I’m so glad Marie is feeling better. And I’m so glad we finally got to meet in person! Not sure how helpful we were with the yarn acquisition-thing, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

