Skip to content

On a roll

April 3, 2009

As promised, more FOs:

Pattern: Artichoke Socks

Yarn: Plucky Knitter Superwash Merino Fingering in Houlihan

Notes: Knit toe up on US 1.5, using Mim’s modified heel.  I cannot begin to describe how psyched I am about these socks – not only for the yarn, but how ridiculously quickly I knit them up.  Are you sitting down?  These took me only 3 weeks.  I kid you not.  It’s a record for me.

At the other end of the spectrum is this quilt, which I started during my first year in grad school – 2003-2004 – with a collection of farm country fabrics my mom gave me.  Before I had a sewing machine.  Before I had a rotary cutter.  My mom may have actually been kind enough to cut all these squares for me, because the edges are too nice for me to have cut them with scissors by hand.  It was an ambitious project – I have a full size bed and it about covers it.  Piecing the squares together wasn’t too hard, and the corners line up pretty well for an impatient seamstress such as myself.  This is my first quilt, my first time tieing together backing, batting, and quilt top.  Next time I’m not using yarn – I had to use a pair of pliers to get them through.  And next time I’m not trimming the batting until I’ve sewn the binding on the top – the four corners had to be tweaked noticeably in order to wrap the binding around and have it reach the backing.  All in all, I’m pretty pleased and think my next quilt will be much better with what I’ve learned.

Back to finishing things!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 6:01 pm

    Wow…I’m so impressed by your quilt! Those squares are pretty small too–congrats on finishing it up.

    As for the socks, I’m proud to be able to say that I was a part of your spectacularly fast pace. =)

  2. Monika permalink
    April 30, 2009 1:02 am

    I love it!!! it is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

