Skip to content

Where am I?

May 25, 2009

Sadly, still in CA despite all my best efforts with the job hunt – but that is another story.  I have, as usual, been keeping busy

Pattern: loosely based on Gentleman Socks, with a toe up conversion and heel modifications

Yarn: Shibui Sock, about 2.5 skeins

Notes: Turned these out pretty quickly, and as a result they match.  What do I mean by that?  On to the next pair….

Pattern: Nutkin, also converted to toe up

Yarn: Wollmeise Sockenwolle 100% Superwash in Rhabarber, about 0.9 skeins

Notes: As you may have noticed from my comment above or previous socks I’ve made, I have a problem with changing gauge.  I started these last year in October and picked up the first sock before I went to North Carolina in April.  When I blocked them out, I noticed one was taller than the other and not as tight on the sock blockers…sure enough, they’re slightly different sizes.  I keep telling myself if it’s cold enough to wear wool socks, I’ll be wearing pants and no one will notice.  But from now on I’m knitting pairs together!  On to the yarn, the elusive ever-hoarded Wollmeise.  I was a bit unsure about it when I started these socks, with how splitty the yarn is (I swear it must be like 6 ply or something), but was converted when I felt the fabric it makes.  I think I prefer the less variagated colors, but this pattern is great for showcasing variagated yarns.  The next test will be to see how well they wear!

I made a loom.  It’s nothing fancy, but it seems to be getting the job done moderately ok.  There are still alot of glitches to be worked out, but I wanted something to try out as I think more and more about buying a loom.  With the wrist problem I have, it can’t hurt to have another way to use up yarn 🙂

I’ve done some spinning – about 200 yds of sock weight in some Scout’s Swag roving from ages ago.  I still have some more left, but I was getting bored with spinning the same color and wanted to ply it.  I still have to figure out a better way to split up singles for plying – I’ve got a bit more left on one of the bobbins.

And chasing birds.  This is the little huntress the day she brought a small sparrow into my apartment – alive and uninjured enough to fly around.  I of course, being the brave woman I am, freaked out and after a hilarious phone call to M got the bird back outside.  Where the other birds were, for lack of a better phrase, yelling at Marie.  Well, at least my life isn’t boring 🙂

So that’s me – still trying to find a job and explore all options to get me out to Colorado to live with M.  It’s been a hugely frustrating search with decision making lingering on for months and still no decisions made.  Work has been incredibly stressful the last two weeks as well, making my time at home more of the collapse-on-the-couch variety.  But this weekend I have managed to do laundry, make chicken stock, have brunch with a friend and dinner with a few others, as well as get out my sewing machine and get some bags further along.  I’d do more, but Marie is insisting on sleeping my my lap right now….

Happy Memorial Day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 2:34 pm

    *hugs* to you. I will keep thinking good job thoughts for you. I think everyone is in the same frustrating boat. 😦 Keepin’ em crossed for you, at least your life isn’t boring!

    🙂

  2. June 12, 2009 3:19 am

    Ack, I’m sooo behind on my blog reading! How is the job hunt going?

Leave a Reply

