Skip to content

Things I have learned

July 12, 2009

It’s been almost two weeks now since Mark proposed, and the sparkliness of the ring is still distracting.  But aside from learning about how easily distracted I am (“ooh, something shiny!”), I’m beginning to learn some more serious lessons about life as a couple.  How we approach wedding planning, for instance.  I come from a very small family, which may or may not have lead to my generally shy and quiet dispostion.  Mark, on the other hand, comes from a very large family and is more comfortable in large group situations.  You can see where this is going, right?  Of course we’ve begun the first stages of wedding planning, which involves drawing up a preliminary guest list to guestimate the budget.

150 people.  Did you catch that?  150 people.  I am still shocked, and 2/3 of that list is Mark’s friends and family.  And so the discussions have begun.  Somehow, now that we’re engaged, the disagreements feel different.  It’s not that we never had arguments before, because every couple has their differences.  But now it rattles me more.  With the impending move, the new job, the new life together it shakes me more.  Part of me is surpised he even has as much of an opinion about the details as he does.  The upside of that of course is that he’s helping out with the legwork of finding a venue, especially since I’m still in California.  But the idea of hosting a party for so many people still terrifies me….

So I’ve been focusing instead on getting ready for the move, spending time with friends in this last month, and of course knitting.

Pattern: Meandering Vines, Rav link

Yarn: Dream in Color Baby, Dusky Aurora

Notes: Instead of knitting this in two halves, I just knit one piece.  Which made it feel like it took forever.  But I love how it turned out!  It made its debut appearance at Mark’s cousin’s wedding last month.

Pattern: Widdershins, Rav link

Yarn: Rainy Days and Wooly Dogs Gilded Gothsocks in Edward’s Eyes

Notes: Remember how I said I’m easily distracted by shiny things?  These socks are a great example – I love the glitter incorporated in the yarn and would hold them up every once in awhile to just look at them.  Yes, I admit it.  I tried my new sock knitting approach with these and worked on them simultaneously to make sure I didn’t end up with socks in two sizes, and it worked.  Now I just need colder weather to wear them!

I’ve joined a couple of knit alongs this summer, so here’s hoping there are more FOs to come!  But now, I need to get back to watching my trashy shows on Bravo….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

