Skip to content

Introducing Gail, or how I considered gouging my eyes out

July 21, 2009

Boy, you can hardly wait can you?  Ok, maybe I exaggerated a bit, but I made so many mistakes and was so confused with this pattern that I’m surprised I ever finished it.  To be fair, the pattern layout isn’t the standard I’m used to and the charts I used instead didn’t highlight some key points, so it’s not entirely me.  But I just kept messing things up.

And that, my friends, is what lifelines are for.  If you didn’t believe in lifelines before, I’m here to tell you USE THEM.

Without much more ado, here’s Gail:

Pattern: Gail (aka Nightsongs), supplemented with charts by feministy (rav link)

Yarn: Zen String Loopy Legends in Wendy’s Ferns and Toadstools, most of a skein

Details (or where I rant some more): I tried to get 6 repeats out of this, but knew as I worked up the edging that I was going to run out.  Also, if you’re using the charts, note that the edging row 1 is the same as repeat row 33 – so don’t think you can finish a repeat and then just jump into the edging.  This pattern works pretty well with a variegated yarn, but would also be great in a solid.  Which is up some time in the future, once I’ve recovered from the trauma of frogging 3 times (or really once I finish up some other long standing WIPs)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 11:02 pm

    Beautiful and stunning! Wonderful work-

  2. July 21, 2009 11:08 pm

    Gorgeous! And you still have both eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

