Skip to content

You say it’s your birthday

November 23, 2009

Well, it’s here – the day I’ve had mixed emotions about for the last year.  The day I leave my twenties behind.  To be honest, I’m not entirely sad to see them go.  Some great things happened in my twenties, but some pretty sad things happened then too.  I think alot my hesitation comes from feeling unsettled – do I like where I am, am I happy with what I’m doing?  For some reason turning thirty makes me feel like I should have a better idea where my life is going, and for the most part I just don’t.

So, what did I do to celebrate my last day of being 29?  I made a souffle.

If that sounds anti-climactic, let me explain.  I am a person who in a sense collects hobbies and activities, participates for a short while, and then moves on.  Beading, clay, baking, rock climbing, photography.  Sure, I still do some of those things, but only minimally – knitting is the only exception to this.  This year I’d like to try and narrow my interests, to focus on getting good at what I pick up instead of just checking it out.   To make turning 30 not about getting older, but being more mature.  I read a number of blogs for inspiration about knitting, sewing, and cooking.  Now it’s time for me to do it myself.

So I made a souffle.  And it didn’t collapse.  And it tasted good 🙂

This year I will knit what I buy and finish those sweaters and socks I have planned.  I will sew a quilt for our bed that fits and isn’t crooked.  I will start an herb garden.  And I will start baking from The Cheese Board Collective Works, a la The French Laundry at Home or Alinea at Home.

And I will bake myself a birthday cake when I get home 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2009 4:51 pm

    Happy birthday! And welcome to your thirties (they are great!)

  2. Justin permalink
    November 23, 2009 5:03 pm

    Happy 30th Kate! Way to bring in your new year with a new accomplishment. Hope the day is a great start to a great decade!

  3. November 23, 2009 6:00 pm

    Happy birthday. Your 30s can be the beginning of a new chapter, and I hope it will be a great one!

  4. yao permalink
    November 24, 2009 12:31 am

    happy birthday!

  5. orata permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:06 am

    Happy birthday! A Cheese Board-related goal sounds fantastic.

  6. November 24, 2009 9:08 am

    Bonne anniversaire! Your 30s will be fantastic, I guarantee it.

  7. December 18, 2009 6:18 pm

    happy (really) late birthday and thanks for wishing us well after the owen ordeal. he is doing great, doc said finger is a0okay.

    the thirties are awesome, lady. i have loved every year so far, so you should know that great things are in store for you. happy holidays and i finally remembered to add you to my reader so that i will not miss anymore good knitting or any of the things 30 brings.

    hug. Amiee

Leave a Reply

