Skip to content

I promised I’d knit more

December 27, 2009

As I slowly drop back from the retail therapy binge I’ve been on and start knitting from the stash, alot of projects get finished…

….like this Ishbel for my mom – knit out of Colinette Jitterbug (pattern here, Raveled here).  The yarn didn’t really speak to me in the store when we saw it, but man do I love the way it knit up.  So much, in fact, that I may knit one for myself out of the yarn I have left over.

….or this second monkey, named Marcus, who traveled across the country to Vermont along with Malcom to hopefully brighten the days of two boys.

….maybe my favorite project, the owls sweater (pattern here, Raveled here).  I bought the yarn for this sweater as soon as the pattern came out and cast on right away.  And then didn’t look at it for 4 months because it was summer in California and who knits with bulky natural wool in California?  I finished it finally and wore it to a holiday party of knitters after wearing it to work, because I knew they would get it.

….and the annual pair of socks for Mark, finished last night after 2 weeks of knitting them right in front of him.   My first pair of socks knit from my friend Dani’s yarn (here!) in a great guy-friendly green. Here’s hoping he likes them!

This slew of finished projects is keeping me motivated to continue to knit from the stash (that and how much yarn is in the stash), as well as I knowing I have lined myself up for a challenging year of knitting with knit alongs and gifts that have rather inflexible deadlines.

But for now, I need to ice my wrists 🙂  I hope you all are enjoying the holidays and getting some relaxation in!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sknitty permalink
    December 27, 2009 2:58 pm

    All your knits are lovely! Your owl sweater is perfect on you. I am jealous of the roaring fire 🙂

  2. December 27, 2009 3:02 pm

    Love the owls sweater! I have the yarn hanging out for that too! that ishbel looks awesome!

  3. December 27, 2009 10:58 pm

    the owls sweater is awesome. and i love that you wore it to a party of knitters because they would get it. we are an awesome bunch, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

