Skip to content

Whirlwind

February 23, 2010

It has been a whirlwind of knitting and life lately – it started Valentine’s Day weekend when I pushed myself to finish this:

Dipped Infinity Scarf (raveled here) in Sushine Yarns mini-skeins

and ended up wearing out my wrists.  Which is unfortunate, because I had cast on this yarn for the Ravelympics and was planning on knitting on the plane when I flew out to Fremont for work:

I took a break from knitting while Mark cooked a spectacular pre-Valentine’s dinner (which ended up being lunch too for me the next day) and just hung out.  For a change.

I flew out to Fremont the next day, scarf still blocking at home, and threw myself into a week of work and catching up with a couple of friends still in the Bay Area.  And then, on Weds, I got the news that my grandmother had passed.  She’d been in the hospital for a little while, due to other issues, but had suffered a stroke while there.  And Tuesday night, when I met my parents for dinner, it didn’t look good.  My family isn’t like Mark’s family, which gets together every Christmas or has family reunions every 2 years – we’re small and spread out across the globe.  And I’d lost touch with my grandmother until last year, when I called her to catch up and let her know I was engaged.  We talked for a bit, and she was enthusiastic about my move to Colorado – having lived there herself for awhile.    I have great memories of going to visit her during the summers when she lived in Nevada – I miss her alot, but will remember those trips well.  Sigh.

And so I am back home, trying to re-enter my life after all that has been going on and all that doesn’t slow down – work, wedding planning, the animals.  At least I’m not bored 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:29 pm

    So sorry to hear about your grandma! It’s great that you got to catch up with her recently and she knew your life was going so well.

    Your Dipped Infinity is gorgeous!

  2. February 24, 2010 5:09 am

    i am sorry to hear about the loss of your grandma. as j said, it is a good thing that you were able to let her know about all the wonderful things happening in your life.

    that is one serious project in the first photo. my wrists hurt just looking at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

