Skip to content

Gold medal for me!

March 2, 2010

I’ve participated in the Knitting Olympics/Ravelympics with varying degrees of success the last 3 Olympics.  I had lofty goals of course for this round, but managed to scale back and be realistic once I got distracted by Aeolian again.  So, here I present my Simple Things Shawl (Raveled here), started during the opening ceremony and finished during the US-Canada Gold medal hockey game (what a nail-biter!).  It was knit using the wonderful Pagewood Farm Alyeska sock yarn and is incredibly soft – I’m definitely going to be knitting with more of this!

Now that the Olympics are over, it’s back to shawl knitting for me – I’ve got quite a list to finish up this year, and may enter the 10 Shawls in 2010 (since I’ll likely hit that anyways).  I finally started a project list in my projects to keep track of what I plan on knitting to keep me from going crazy buying yarn without any projects in mind 🙂

But  I couldn’t resist making one little splurge this weekend – an Ashford Rigid Heddle Loom, to celebrate my promotion and raise last week.  This could be good for using up my stash more quickly than knitting….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yao permalink
    March 3, 2010 5:58 am

    there are knitting olympics?!?

  2. March 10, 2010 5:14 pm

    Congratulations on the Knitting Olympics! I was wondering if you did something big–like a cable or colorwork sweater! Shawls are always good.

    Ah, the weaving. I would so love to do that! Have you started on a first project yet?

Leave a Reply

