Skip to content

It’s not all just knitting here

March 15, 2010

No, I’ve officially been bitten by the weaving bug.  I took some of my bonus money to buy a loom to celebrate my promotion, and in under a week turned this out:

I cleverly took this shot of it folded so you can’t see all the mistakes that I’m going to tell you about anyways.  This is some sportweight yarn the lady at the shop recommended I learn on, and learn I did.  Here’s a shot of my second scarf in progress:

The weave is more even (you can see the warp), the edges are more even.  The warp tension, however, was not even.  When they tell you to place paper between the rolls as you wind up the warp, they’re not kidding.  I spent about an hour unweaving my progress to rewarp the loom and start over.  So far, so good!

A week to make a scarf may still seem long, but keep in mind I’ve been knitting on the same shawl since New Year’s Eve and I’m only 70% done (I blame the beads, toothpick sized needles, and dental floss yarn I’m using for my slow progress).  But to be able to make a scarf in a few hours spread over a week when my wrists are dead is great news for my yarn-stashing problem.

If you’re on the fence about weaving, I recommend checking it out!  It’s alot of fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 10:15 am

    Love the green–is that WM you’re using! Gah. I am so jealous.

  2. March 15, 2010 2:37 pm

    Yay for you! That green is lovely. I’ve considered trying weaving…like I need another hobby!

  3. afrognamedpurl permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:39 pm

    yay! how pretty that green is. i will be warping my loom soooooon

Leave a Reply

