Skip to content

Something blue…

March 31, 2010

Finally, it’s done.  On New Year’s Eve, I cast on for Aeolian in Wool Candy’s alpaca/cashmere/silk cobweb lace to make myself a wedding shawl (Raveled here).  Almost 3 months later, I cast off the final stitches and blocked it out:

Some of the stats:

Rows: over 100
Stitches in bind off: 983
Cumulative stitches: over 75000
Yards of cobweb laceweight used: almost 950
Tubes of beads: 3

I knit the larger shawl sized version, hence the large number of stitches and amounts of beads.  I fought through wrist problems yet again in order to wrap this up by my deadline of the end of the month (which coincides with some KALs anyways!)  The only major modification I made was to leave out the nupps after the first few sets because they didn’t really show up and took alot of time – aside from that it’s as written!  I’m proud of myself for knitting something so big and complicated with no obvious mistakes (they’re there, but you can’t see them 🙂  )

In other wedding news, I may have ordered a second dress from J. Crew.  Odds are it won’t fit and I’ll return it, but I’ll be in a quandary if it does!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 3:33 pm

    983 sts!!! Okay, that’s insane, but it’s gorgeous regardless. And mistakes? Pah! Who cares.

    Keep the 2nd dress; dye it yellow or some other spring color. Perfect for the reception or honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

