Skip to content

Guilt-ridden or inspired?

April 29, 2010

There’s a link floating around the blogs these days to this article, written about the bloggers who seem to have perfect and beautiful crafty lives, and how it affects the rest of us in the blogosphere.  When you see these perfectly manicured tables and gorgeous window shots, do you somehow feel even more mediocre than you did 5 minutes ago?  Do you read through these posts with their carefully crafted words describing an ordinary day and wish that was your life?  Do you want to be a Marthette?

In my mind, the question comes down to not whether or not these women really have the perfect lives they blog about and why they’re making the rest of us feel guilty, but why we feel guilty.  Why feel bad about yourself when you read their posts, rather than feeling inspired?  I read my fair share of crafting blogs and take away different things from each of them.  Sknitty makes me aspire to be a better and faster knitter with the rate she makes sweaters at.  Mamieknits inspires me to dig out my sewing maching and stash of fabrics with the beautiful work she does.  Yummyyarn teaches me the value of a gorgeous photo in the start of spring and how much it can brighten your day.  There are countless bloggers out there that inspire me to be better at all the crafts and arts I enjoy, to try new things, to broaden my horizens.

In my mind, it really comes down to a frame of mind.  Yes, I am envious of the women with the perfectly decorated house with their vintage clothes and their baked creations.  But I know too that if I selected fractions of my day and artfully photographed them, I too could be a Marthette.  I suspect for every perfect tart there is a sink full of dirty dishes that didn’t make the final cut of photos to include in the post.  For every gorgeous quilt sewn from vintage fabrics there is a waste basket full of scraps, some pricked fingers, and countless hours of work that went into making that final shot.

You can feel bad about yourself reading these blogs, or you can take them for what they are – snapshots out of someone else’s life.

Artfully arranged and perfectly lit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 8:17 pm

    Oh, you said it so well: it’s all about the frame of mind. Some people feel scared or threatened; others feel inspired. You can’t please everyone!

    Sometimes I think those types of articles are written to provoke intense reaction, and this one did.

  2. April 29, 2010 10:41 pm

    First, thank you for the kind words on my wee blog! Makes me smile.

    Second, you are so right regarding what can be taken away from “those” blogs, and where it can come from. It’s all in the eye of the beholder.

  3. yao permalink
    April 30, 2010 9:45 pm

    i’m jealous… of your status messages!

    i miss snow…

  4. May 26, 2010 5:17 am

    well, my lovely, thank you for the inclusion in there. and believe me, there is a whole lot of mess that does not make it into my photos.

    i think you are right. we take what we want…it is our choice to view it and process the lovely and know there is some dirt, somewhere. 🙂 wish i could have seen you when you were down (l.a. right?)

    and your life looks just lovely. as it should.

Leave a Reply

