Skip to content

Look, I finished it!

October 7, 2010

Finally this weekend I finished attaching the binding to my quilt, washed it, and put it on the bed:

I cannot tell you guys how excited I am to have finished my first machine-quilted quilt.  My mom helped me pick out these fabrics on one of my visits to Napa, after I fell in love with the bubble print.  I aimed big and decided to try for a king-sized quilt to fit our queen-sized bed.  The piecing took awhile, and is still imperfect (you can see in some spots how the squares line up vertically but not horizontally), and it sat for a few months while I debated whether or not to try machine quilting it on my domestic machine.

I was inspired by the idea of organic line quilting, where you just free motion quilt lines without attempting to make them perfectly straight.  Since I hadn’t gotten the blocks to line up, I was hesitant to try anything like diagonals that would need to be fudged to hide the mistakes.  I tried it out on a little crib quilt I had finished (I still haven’t put the binding on that one yet) and though I had alot of problems with my tension, I eventually figured it out and loved the final look.

So I dove in:

Can I just say I love those little bias tape makers?  Made my life so much easier.  Now I just need an AccuQuilt to cut squares and I will be happy with my toolset – cutting up all these squares for the Tokyo Subway Map QAL nearly did me in!

In other news, I’ve been dyeing and dyeing and winding and warping and getting ready for an update in my etsy shop for tomorrow morning (9 AM Pacific).  I made the mistake of adding in some custom orders before I finished dyeing and winding for the update skeins and have been working late every night after work to get everything ready.  Whew!  I think I’m going to take next week off from dyeing yarn!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 3:22 pm

    It’s gorgeous!! Wow, you have been busy.

    See you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

