Skip to content

From one obsession to another

October 28, 2010

I’d have to say it really started with knitting.  I started knitting late in college, when my roommate Michelle introduced me to the fun of knitting while watching TV.  I’d come home and see her curled up on the couch with a scarf and a show, and decided I wanted to learn.  With some help from my mom and a starter set from Michaels, I finished my first scarf in 2002 and never looked back.  We took a field trip to local yarn shops, but most of my stashing occurred at Michaels or local craft stores.  It wasn’t until I moved down south that I started getting into the higher end yarns from local yarn shops (LYSs for those of you in the know), and it wasn’t until Ravelry and my discovery of Wollmeise and indie dyers that it really snowballed.  I’ve always appreciated a good photo, so I kept my online stash up to date and meticulously photographed, getting many compliments on ‘my stash.’

It’s a weird thing when you think about being complimented of photos of yarn that is going to be rearranged into a garment.  I suppose it’s the same as people taking photos of their mise en place or produce at the farmer’s market, but my stash has always sort of stressed me out.  I don’t see it as a beautiful collection of wonderfully dyed yarn – I see it as things I still have to do and haven’t done yet.  A list of WIPs to become FOs, and bottles of ibuprofen to tackle it with.  I am a retail therapist, and my stash is the product of grad school, breakups, job hunting, grief, moving, wedding planning, and any other stress factor.

So I started to move away from knitting, into faster and equally productive hobbies – weaving and sewing (with a detour into spinning which isn’t fast and produces yarn to be knit, but is nicely meditative and doesn’t hurt my body as much as knitting seems to).  And my stashes changed

Suddenly I was collecting fiber, subscribing to etsy feeds for shop updates, reading quilt blogs and falling in love with new fabric collections.

It turns out that one of my skills in life, aside from my rare but sometimes useful interest in chemistry and medicine, is collecting things.  If only this were somehow marketable!  I have fears of one day going overboard and having the producers of Hoarders show up on my doorstep, but I know that’s a long ways off (besides, Mark still hasn’t let me live down throwing out some of my spices before I moved to Colorado in my fit to get rid of things and squeeze my life into a U-haul trailer)

I reached a decent medium of paring down my yarn and fiber stash, sewing with my fabric stash, and trying to not indulge in retail therapy when I was stressed out (see my shoe collection).  And then I read this.  And this.  My mother and I share a like for cute dolls from overseas, so this wasn’t my first introduction to Blythe.  But something tipped, and before I knew it I had one and had started pulling out fabric to sew doll clothes.

Oops.  At least I managed to get rid of some more yarn and fiber before I bought her!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 5:25 pm

    I say do whatever makes you happy!

  2. October 29, 2010 3:48 am

    Mine is still in her box 🙂 And I haven’t sewn for her yet.

Leave a Reply

