Skip to content

2011 – The Year of Less is More

January 6, 2011

2010 was a mixed bag – there were many incredibly high points (getting married, getting promoted, upping the craft ante) and many low points (my grandmother passing away, the stress that comes with getting promoted, the recovery from knee surgery #3).  Every year I start off saying, “This year will be better.”  I’ll get in shape, I’ll eat better, I’ll clear out my closets and start fresh.

Maybe this year it will actually happen….

I learned more about myself last year, about what stress does to me and those around me.  I don’t like it, but I’ve always struggled with how to change my response to those things that are outside of my control.  My response is the only thing I have control over, and that drives me crazy.

Last year I threw myself into deserving my promotion, planning a wedding, and trying to make gifts for others.  I almost lost (or arguably did lose) my mind.  So this year, I will try to learn from my mistakes.  I am proud of all that I made last year:

But I will not pressure myself this year.  I will not bring my computer home unless I have to, and I will not waste time at work.  I will not let dyeing yarn dictate my craft time and cause me personal injury (I’m looking at you shoulder).  No more retail therapy or “but it was on sale!”  I will go outdoors more and be serious about getting in shape over the temptation to stay home and make another quilt.  I will travel more to see friends, all of whom I really missed last year.

So.  We’ll see how that all goes.  But on paper it seems like a good idea!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

